School Lunch

jack and the beanstalk

Len Ebert / Picturebook

I was picking my three children up at school. Then, they started having the following conversation, on the back seat of the car:

1. “When I grow up, I wanna be a restaurant.”

2. “You cannot be a restaurant. A restaurant is not a living thing. Living things are people, animals, plants…”

1. “Ok, then I wanna be a tree.”

2. “You look like a bean, that’s it!”

1. “So, I’m gonna grow up to the sky!”

3. “The bean plant cannot reach the sky.”

1. “Yes, it does! The bean plant of Jack and the Beanstalk did!”

3. “It’s a made-up story by the Europeans. They like that kind of tale.”

2. “Things like giant kingdoms don’t exist. The sky is something sacred, Mommy told me.”

1. “You mean, did Jack of the Beanstalk meet God?”

And me driving the car and thinking to myself: what did they put in these kids’ food at school????

________________________

You can also see:

Are your kids as mine?

The Tooth Fairy

It was so cute when they…yet I miss…

This post in Portuguese: Merenda

4 thoughts on “School Lunch

  1. So cute! 🙂 I love transcribing the things my kids say (I’ve got a post coming out with just that, tomorrow). It always amazes me how their minds work. Did Jack meet God? What a great question! And one that never in all the times I’ve read that story occurred to me. The Angry Birds watermelon is quite impressive. I bet kids would eat that over french fries if they had it at school! You did a great job with capturing that special, thought-provoking, drive home.

    • They fight a lot, but they also give us those daily inspiring finds… We must be quick to take notes, or the finds become lost hahaha!

  2. How do you concentrate on the drive? I’d have been too tickled to think straight! It’s such a delight to know that the children are not just growing with inquiring minds, but also that they have wit to support it. Look forward to reading more from you, Marusia.

Leave a Reply

